Octavian Droobers celebrated the start to the New Year by winning the West Midlands Laurie Bradley Trophy held at Twemlows Wood, near Whitchurch, Shropshire. The 60 minute score event, organised by Wrekin Orienteers attracted an excellent turnout and some great performances from the club. OD won with a total of 6420 points, WRE were 2nd scoring 5610 and Harlequins 3rd with 5080 points. 

Of the 25 scorers 8 achieved maximum of 300 points by visiting all controls within the time limit: Julie Emmerson W16, Jessica Halliday W21, Matthew Elkington M16, William Gardner M18, Matthew Halliday M20, Barry Elkington M40, Richard Gardner M55 and Robert Brandon M60. Other scorers were Sophie Kirk W20 290points, Andy Emmerson M50 290 points, Lesley Ross W45 270, Bill Nicolson M45 260, Jane Halliday W50 250, Alan Halliday M55 250 points, Jamie Nicolson M12 240, Trevor Simpson M70 240, Joanna Halliday W21 230. On 220 points were Kevin Ross M45, Philip May M55, John Middler M55 and John Bowman M65 and on 210 points were Alastair Gardner M16, Philip Kirk M55 and John Boden M60 and Tom Ross M14 scored 190 points.

 The trophy for the best junior performance went to Will Gardner M18.



Six club members will travel to North West Germany to represent England in the annual Interland match on 6 March between teams from Netherlands, France, Germany, and Belgium.  

Congratulations to Aimee Morse W14, Sophie Kirk W20, Lesley Ross W45, Sheila Carey W65, Matt Elkington W16 and Matt Halliday M20.

3rd January 2011

Cookies user preferences
We use cookies to ensure you to get the best experience on our website. If you decline the use of cookies, this website may not function as expected.
Accept all
Decline all
These cookies are needed to make the website work correctly. You can not disable them.
Cookie Preferences