This weekend saw several Octavian Droobers members being crowned champions of their age classes at the British Sprint and Middle Distance Championships. The Sprint was held around Keele University campus and congratulations go to four new champions: Harrison McCartney M16 class first place in the 2.9km final in 15.01mins, Andy Simpson M40 class 14.38mins on the 2.9k course, Peter Carey M70 class 15.13mins on the 1.9km final and Sheila Carey top runner in 17.21min on the 1.9km W65 course Final. Mike Hampton also gained a podium place by coming 3rd in the M65 Final.

Also qualifying in the morning heats for a place in the A Finals and achieving top ten results were: Tabitha Lunn 4th in the W10 Final, Felix Lunn 8th in the M12 Final, Alistair Powell M35 7th in the M35 Final. Richard Gardner 7th in the M60  Final, Julie Emmerson 8th in the Womens Open Final and Suzanne Humphries 5th in the W50 Final.

At Brereton Spurs, Cannock Chase, the British Middle Distance event was attended by over 1200 competitors from all over the UK and Andy Simpson was again very successful having a great run to win the M40 class in 36.07mins on the 4.87km course to do the double over the weekend and become champion. Prizes for second places in their classes were awarded to Harrison McCartney M16, 27.19mins on the 3.69km course, Julie Emmerson W18 36.57mins on the 4.13km course, Matthew Elkington M20 36.26mins on the 5.02km course and Hilary Simpson W75 taking 44.02mins on the 2.04km course  Third place and also on the podium was Trevor Simpson M75 41.44mins on the 2.62km course.

Other good runs resulting in top 10 places:  Alistair Powell M35 7th, Barry Elkington M55 10th, Tony Feltbower M60 8th and Richard Gardner M60 9th, Peter Carey M70 7th, Anne Straube W35 4th, Amy Sarkies W35 5th, Lesley Ross W45 8th and Sue Bicknell W70 8th.

Congratulations to the eight OD juniors who will compete with the West Midlands squad at the Junior Inter Regional Championships taking place in Graythwaite in the Lake District at the end of September:  Aimee Morse, Rhiannon Cope, Nathan Lawson, Steven Elkington, Harrison McCartney, Will Heaton, Alfie Bullus and Callum Pearman.

09th Sept 2014

Cookies user preferences
We use cookies to ensure you to get the best experience on our website. If you decline the use of cookies, this website may not function as expected.
Accept all
Decline all
These cookies are needed to make the website work correctly. You can not disable them.
Cookie Preferences