Congratulations to Sheila Carey, club member, who was awarded the MBE in the New Year’s Honours List. She received her award for services to disability athletics. Sheila, amongst many athletics achievements represented Great Britain in two Olympic Games, in Mexico in 1968 coming 4th in the 800m Final and in Munich in 1972 where she came 5th in the 1500m Final. Last year in orienteering Sheila became the W65 UK Masters Champion and was second in the British Orienteering Championship for her class.

The club are pleased to announce the following selections to the England team for the Interland competition taking place in March in the Netherlands. Nathan Lawson M16, Harrison McCartney M16, Matt Elkington M18, Harriet Lawson W18, Lesley Ross W45, Sheila Carey W65 and travelling reserve Aimee Morse W16.

More honours were won on New Year’s Day as a team of 44 club members competed in the Laurie Bradley Trophy which is held annually between West Midland Clubs. Octavian Droobers Vice Captain, Suzanne Humphries, was thrilled at the magnificent performances with the club scoring a total of 6750 points from the top 25 club scorers, 440 points ahead of second placed Walton Chasers. The event was challenging and very fast with competitors having to punch as many as possible of the 30 controls in the l hour time limit, scoring 10 points for each. Of the 12 people who managed to collect all 30, seven were from Octavian Droobers.

The top three runners at the event were from the club: William Gardner M20 in 48.52mins, Matt Elkington M18 50.55mins and Iain Embrey M21 52.04mins. Team scorers with 300 points were William Gardner, Matthew Elkington, Iain Embrey, Chris McCartney, Patrick Roddy, Julie Emmerson and Andy Emmerson. Barry Elkington, Calum Barnetson and Mark Bailey scored 290. Robert Brandon and Aimee Morse 280, Tony Feltblower and Stephen Elkington 270, Alastair Gardner, Suzanne Humphries and Heather Rogers 260 Dave Marr 250, Liz Phillips and Rachel Emmerson 240, John Ward 230, Bruce Bryant, John Bowman, Carolyn Marr, Gerry Spalton and Jill Emmerson all scored 220 points.

Suzanne Humphries said not only did we bring home the team trophy again but also both the junior ones as Matthew Elkington and Julie Emmerson retained their trophies for the highest scoring M18 or under and W18 or under respectively.

4th January 2013

Cookies user preferences
We use cookies to ensure you to get the best experience on our website. If you decline the use of cookies, this website may not function as expected.
Accept all
Decline all
These cookies are needed to make the website work correctly. You can not disable them.
Cookie Preferences